User Tag List

Thread: Defi vs AEM boost gauge (over 30psi only)

Mentioned
    34 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Defi vs AEM boost gauge (over 30psi only)

I've been using a Defi gauge for 5 years, thing has always worked great. Im starting to think the gauge has become faulty because in 3rd i will stay stuck at 26psi then at the top of the power band it will shoot to 30+, yet i cannot physically feel this difference at all. Been doing a shit load of logs (20+ so far) with chet and he's not seeing this either, so i'm convinced the gauge itself is just finally giving away. It IS mechanical (and sort of electronic).

I need something that will go over 30PSI.

Right now i'm looking at the Defi 45psi one (https://www.rallysportdirect.com/par...ge-52mm-45-psi) or an AEM 35psi one (https://www.amazon.com/dp/B001DX7KMY...CG4D1G6P0N8ASZ).

I think i'd prefer to use the Defi one because I'm already really familiar with the wiring, and electronic stuff makes my head fucking explode. I also LOVE how PERFECT it matches the stock instrument cluster (mines an 08), and its not blaring bright at night. Its easier to find issues / leaks etc if its a smooth sweeping needle as opposed to just a number flashing at you. Still, anyone want to convince me to not go with it? I dont plan on using either for logging.

Mentioned
    29 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Have you tried replacing the boost sensor? And where do you have it mounted? I'd start there before buying a whole new gauge kit.

I swear by Defi gauges because they've always been great quality, function well, and they look awesome in our cars (and Subarus). Unfortunately, I'm kind of in the same boat with my boost gauge, but mine doesn't randomly spike like yours. Sometimes I'll hit 30+ psi during a highway pull which puts my defi CR gauge into some kind of limp mode. The gauge needle drops to the bottom and the warning light starts flashing and doesn't stop. The gauge illumination doesn't change, though.